Social Welfare Department

Government of Meghalaya

Home Awards NGO's Reports Notifications Advertisements Contact Us Sitemap Photo Gallery
  • Slide 1
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • Slide 5

About Us

Constituted as an Independent Directorate in 1974. Deals with Human Resource and Development. Falls under three Ministry of Government of India – Ministry of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Ministry of Tribal Affairs and Ministry of Minority Affairs.

Ministry of Women and Child Development:

  • Integrated Child Development Services
  • Juvenile Justice Act

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment:

  • Disability Sector
  • Social Defence
  • Aged and Infirm

Ministry of Tribal Affairs:

  • Grant-in-aid to NGO’s working for the Welfare of Scheduled Tribes.
  • Vocational Training in Tribal Areas.

more about Social Welfare Department

Contact Numbers for

Implementation of Domestic Violence Act, 2005

East Khasi Hills : 0364-2224409
West Khasi Hills : 0364-2224409
South West Khasi Hills : 8575481353
Ri Bhoi : 953638/232551
East Garo Hills : 953658/220351
South Garo Hills : 953639/222360
South West Garo Hills : 8575481353
North Garo Hills : 8014715584
East Jaintia Hills : 9436701651
West Jaintia Hills : 953652/220805
Prevention of Trafficking of Women and Children 0364-2225266
Shillong Child Line
1098 (Toll free)

Who's Who

Shri Kyrmen Shylla
Social Welfare Department
Shri. P. S. Kumar, I.A.S.,
Commissioner and Secretary,
Social Welfare Department
Smt. M. N. Nampui, I.A.S.,
Social Welfare Department
Shri Dikki D. Shira, MCS
Director of Social Welfare
Phone: 0364 2225187(O)
Email - dte_swmeg(at)yahoo(dot) in

What's New

What's New Archive

rtment, Government of Meghalaya
Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement | Help