Social Welfare Department

Government of Meghalaya

Home Awards NGO's Reports Notifications Advertisements Contact Us Sitemap Photo Gallery

About Us

Constituted as an Independent Directorate in 1974. Deals with Human Resource and Development. Falls under three Ministry of Government of India – Ministry of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Ministry of Tribal Affairs and Ministry of Minority Affairs.Ministry of Women and Child Development.

Ministry of Women and Child Development:

  • 1. Mission POSHAN 2.0
  • i. Anganwadi Services. ii. POSHAN Abhiyaan. iii. Scheme for Adolescent Girls
  • Integrated Child Protection Scheme
  • Swadhar Greh (A scheme for women in difficult circumstances)
  • One Stop Centre for Women
  • Women Helpline ‘181’

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment:

  • Disability Sector
  • Aged and Infirm
  • Anti-Drug Programmes
  • Senior Citizen Helpline
Schedule Caste

Ministry of Tribal Affairs:

  • Grant-in-aid to NGO’s working for the Welfare of Scheduled Tribes.
  • Grants under Article 275(1) of the Constitution

Ministry of Minority Affairs:

  • Implementation of Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) in West Garo Hillls District

more about Social Welfare Department

What's New

What's New Archive